Hyderabad : The City of Biryani


People go to Hyderabad for its Biryani, I am no exception (though the technical reason of my visit would be to give an examination). I visited South India for the first time and this visit changed my taste buds. I hated South Indian meals before going to Hyderabad. But the fresh Dosas, Idlis and Vadas here changed my perception. The Dosa available in Kolkata is different from that in Hyderabad which is why I didn’t like it. The present me can have Dosa and Idli in Kolkata whereas the earlier me would have not eaten these. Hyderabad is known as ‘The City of Pearls’ because of the vast quantity of pearls available here. The architecture of this city dates back to the 16th century. Heritage buildings adorn the city like ‘kajal’ adorns the eye.

I was recently in the city for some work and managed to visit most of the popular tourist spots. The roads are quite clean compared to Kolkata and the people are friendly. Only problem was the language: I could not read the hoardings and banners nor did I understand the words of the local people. Otherwise I liked Hyderabad very much, more so because of the rich gastronomical fare offered in the streets. From Kebabs to Dosas, Idlis to Biryani – Hyderabad will please any food lover guaranteed. Though I must say the people here like their food spicy, I mean SPICY!

Let me take you through my album now.

Golconda Fort – Every Mughal city in India has one or more forts. Hyderabad is no exception. The Golconda Fort is one of the largest I have seen (I have not seen many forts though :p). Here are some of the snaps of Golconda Fort.

Golconda Fort 1

Golconda Fort 2

Golconda Fort 3

Golconda Fort 4

 

Charminar – Charminar literally means “Four Pillars”, the name due to the four arches each opening in four streets. The structure is located in the older part of Hyderabad. Surrounding the Charminar are a wide variety of shops and hawkers selling everything from bangles to carpets, sunglasses to fruits. The place is abuzz with people throughout the day. Charminar is one of the famous heritage monuments of India and has even a brand of cigarettes with its name. See some of the photographs below.

Charminar 01

Charminar 02

Charminar 03

 

Hyderabad

Some chawk

 

Urban landscape

 

Salarjung Museum

Salarjung Museum

 

Lumbini Park hosts a laser show every evening which is spectacular. The various pictures shown through laser is a must watch. I am fortunate to get some pictures during the show. Below are some of them.

Lumbini 01

Our National Flag

Lumbini 2

Taj Mahal

Lumbini 3

India

 

Great Bawarchi Restaurant makes some of the best Biryani in town. Don’t kill me for the following picture :3

Biryani

Heaven on Earth

 

Hussain Sagar

Hussain Sagar

 

Buddha

Buddha Statue in Hussain Sagar

 

PARADISE. The name is apt for the most popular restaurant in Hyderabad. People from all over India come to Paradise for its delicious Biryani and Kebabs. Please go to Paradise as soon as you can to enjoy the delicacies offered here. It’s a request. Meanwhile look at some of the photographs below.

Paradise

Paradise

Paradise

Reshmi Kebab

Paradise

Mutton Biryani

 

With that my journey came to an end. Hope to come back here soon.

That’s it for today. I enjoyed the trip to Hyderabad thoroughly. Do comment your feedback below. And share this post with your friends and family if you like it.

 

9 thoughts on “Hyderabad : The City of Biryani

  1. This is deliciously beautiful! Informative, well pictured and interactive lines. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. All the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

